The Maritime Trust of Australia, the owner of and body responsible for preserving HMAS Castlemaine, was formed in 1973. It is wholly run by volunteers through a committee and financed by donations and entrance fees paid by visitors.

In 1996 the Trust became an incorporated association. We are always keen for people to become involved in our work, whether by visiting the ship, donating artefacts, photos and papers, volunteering as a guide or restoration worker. Here are ways you can assist HMAS Castlemaine:

Provide a Donation

The MTA receives no direct funding from government sources, outside occasional grants for specific projects, and we rely upon admission fees and donations to pay the expenses of maintaining the ship. If you would like to help ensure HMAS Castlemaine remains in existence for future generations to enjoy, please make a donation. Donations of $2 and above are tax deductible. Either contact us directly or donate into our bank account:

Name: Maritime Trust of Australia Inc.
BSB: 013-141
A/c number: 850682757
Please enter your name and email us upon payment, so we can issue a receipt.

Become a Volunteer

Provide essential support for the ship and our operations by becoming a Volunteer - read more about the benefits for Castlemaine and the benfits for you of volunteering. Men and women of all ages are very welcome.

Become a Member

The Maritime Trust of Australia is an Incorporated Association that is completely volunteer-based, a registered non-profit organisation without paid positions. The committee consists of a President, Vice-president, Secretary, Treasurer and four ordinary members, and is elected by the members of the MTA every two years. Anybody can become a member by simply applying and paying a nominal membership fee. Please contact us to apply for membership.

Committees Past and Present

Current Committee
committee member Dennis Gale
committee member Dick Budzienny
committee member Bob Pearson
committee member Michael Harrington
committee member Andy McNeill
committee member Martin Woodhead

Early Committee

The following is a list of members who guided the project in the early years. The original members who conceived and got the project off the ground are marked #.

Capt. Sam J. Benson
Len Barker
Doug Bews
Geoff P. Butt
Adrian Champ
Allan R. Colquhoun #
Alex Colville
Laurie Crooks
Lindsey Crowle
F. A. Goldstone
Noel Hernan
Kerry Hodges
Vice Adm Lionel Lockwood
Sir Cecil Looker #
Addison Lowes
B. McCallum
Campbell Mclaren #
S. Baillieu Myer #
Capt Peter Richardson
J. H. H. Paterson
P. M. Scott
Ross Shilton
Cdre Dacre Smythe
Wesley Stenning
Hon. Vernon Wilcox
Peter J. Williams #

Committee Since 2000s

The committee was re-formed in the early 2000s, and below are members of the re-formed committee. Current members are denoted by *.

Dick Budzienny*
Andrew Campbell
Frank Casio
Toni Casio
Peter Driver
Dennis Gale*
Bob Gerring
Michael Harrington*
Russell Hopton
Jim Johnston
Steven Knipe
Andy McNeill*
Geoff Middleton
Bob Pearson*
Ian Shackleton
Peter Williams OAM
Martin Woodhead*

Volunteers Past and Present

The restoration and maintenance of Castlemaine has depended completely on volunteers, men and women who have given their time and expertise to help restore and maintain the vessel. If you know of anyone missing from the list below, please contact us to update our records. Thank you to all of Castlemaine's dedicated volunteers.

Dick Adams
Ben Adolph
Don Allen
N.E Armstrong
Peter Arnold
Belinda Baum
Kevin Bebend
Peter Botha
Ian Brandt
Phil Brown
Clayton Bryant
Dick Budzienny
Daryl Bunting
Andrew Campbell
Toni Cascio
Frank Cascio
Paula Castro
Adrian Champ
Peter Charlesworth
Geoff Clark
Rod Clarke
Alex Colville
Dick Coyle
Laurie Crooks
Lindsey Crowle
John Croxford
Mike Delany
Laurie Dilks
Zoran Dimkowski
Peter Driver
Kathleen Driver
D. Donovon
Gavin Downs
Anthony Edwards
Sean Egan
W.F. Ellis
Ken Erskine
John Ferguson
Neil Ferrand
David Foster
Terry Francis
J. Fraser
Dennis Gale
Pat Gavan
Dennis George
Bob Gerring
Chris Glover
Dirk Groen
Felix Groza
Doug Guthrie
Julian Hall
John Halton
Mike Harrington
David Harris
Leo Harrigan
Keith Hatch
Noel Hernan
Robert Hill
Kerry Hodges
John Honeyset
Frank Horney
Russell Hopton
Jeff Hunt
Grant Hunter
Rudi Jans
Jim Johnston
Royce Jowett
Darren Kearns
Mick Kearns
Dennis Kendall
Rosie Kendall
Russell Kenshole
David Knight
Mark Knight
Steve Knipe
Andrew Laing
Vic Langlands
Doug Lapham
Steve Lillywhite
Addison Lowes
Lisa Mai
Mick Markovic
Joan Martin
Bob May
David McBain
Andrew McCallum
Ben McCallum
Neil McDonald
Bob McEvoy
J. McMillan
Andrew McNeil
Andy McNeill
Geoff Middleton
Bill Moore
Harrow Morgan
Bruce Mourant
Mick Newington
Peter Nicholson
Peter O'Dowd
Herc Papadopoulos
J.W.C. Paterson
Jack Pearce
Bob Pearson
Bill Pepper
J. Pevitt
Michael Piscopo
Bradley Reid
Gillian Richardson
Albert Rose
Ian Shackleton
Adam Sharpe
Gus Sheahan
Tony Samuel
Ron Sheahan
Ross Shilton
Graeme Sinclair
Lawrie Sinclair
Colin Smith
David Smith
Wesley Stenning
Trevor Sloan
John Szanto
Noel Tehan
Mike Thorn
Alf 'Bluey' Thornton
John Tincello
Michael Tutton
Matty Vale
Stephen Wardley
George Wellington
Frank Welsh
Peter J. Williams
Martin Woodhead
Mark Wylob
Eddy Yrbanac